spring April 25

April 25, 2009

spring April 25, originally uploaded by ducksRfriends.

Its a beautiful day outside. Sunny, warm, slightly breezy. And yet I sit inside staring out the window, trying to get work done…. Perhaps that is a bit of an exaggeration. Actually I’m listening to the people enjoying the day down on the street. Yelling that sounds like fights, but breaks into laughter. Older men grumbling. Young children cheeping, racketing down the street with skateboards, perhaps a bike or two. I feel like the street has a whole other life I don’t ever see, tucked away in my house. And yet here I stay, trying to concentrate on my work…..

2 Responses to “spring April 25”

  1. David Ohlsen said

    “racketing down the street” – definitely a sound I know. CLACK- hiss- CLACK- hiss- CRASH.
    My hometown, San Pedro, is all downhill sidewalk and cement until you hit the coast, and our youth USES that.
    And a good thing to remember is that the people on the sidewalk are usually thinking about the whole other lives happening in the houses.

    love the picture, too.

  2. Ah, when I went to get the mail, I found out that most of the noise was coming from the barbecue my neighbors were holding in the middle of the street. Of course they ignored us when we left the house to go get groceries… lovely community feeling. Although, to be fair, everyone else on the block is quite nice. My question is- don’t they have to bring the barbecue all the way through the house? Or at least up from the basement? That sounds like a Mess to me….

Leave a comment